ZAC Logo4  


Prof. David M. Lee 

Cornell University & Texas A&M

Nobel Laureate (1996, Physics)

Prof. David M. Lee is a professor of physics in the College of Arts and Sciences at Cornell University. He joined the Department of Physics as an instructor in 1959, after earning a Ph.D. in physics (1959 Yale University), an M.S. (University of Connecticut, 1955), and a B.A. (Harvard University, 1952).

In 1976, Lee shared with Richardson and Osheroff their earliest recognition for studies of superfluidity, the Simon Memorial Prize of the British Physical Society. The Buckley Prize of the American Physical Society followed for the trio in 1981. Lee has twice been awarded Guggenheim Fellowships, in 1966 and 1974.

Prof. Lee was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1990 and a Member of the National Academy of Sciences in 1991. He was elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, both in 1982.

From 1966-67, Lee was a visiting scientist at Brookhaven National Laboratory, as well as a visiting professor at University of Florida (1974-75) and at University of California at San Diego (1988).